Team and Advisors

Our Team of Advisors

The following team of advisors will help guide our work and assist us in co-creating the Next Chapter summit and online community. We are deeply grateful for their commitment of time and talents to this endeavor.

  • Helene Bowers is Director of Digital Strategies at Columbus Metropolitan LIbraries (OH) and a frequent speaker on emerging technologies, innovation and leadership. In 2007, Helene was named a Mover & Shaker by Library Journal as one of the 50 most influential people shaping the future of libraries. The discovery learning program, Learning 2.0: 23 Things, that she created while at Charlotte Mecklenburg Library (NC) has lhas been replicated by over 700 organizations in 15 countries.
  • Susan Booth is Director of Strategic Initiatives at National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) where she writes regularly for Independent School magazine and facilitates NAIS’s 21st Century Curriculum/Technology Task Force. She worked formerly as Manager of Education Technology Programs at National School Boards Association (NSBA) and as an Education and Technology Development Specialist at Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE)
  • Lucy Gray is currently an independent education consultant, working with a variety of institutions on 21st century learning initiatives. She has previously worked in several capacities related to educational technology at the University of Chicago’s Laboratory Schools, Urban Education Institute and Center for Elementary Mathematics and Science Education. Her varied professional interests include mobile learning, digital equity, information literacy, global education, and the incorporation of social media technologies into educational settings.
  • Buffy Hamilton, Ed.S, is founding librarian of “The Unquiet Library” at Creekview High School in the Atlanta area. She is recognized by The National School Board Association as one of the “top 20 to watch” for 2011, is a 2011 Library Journal Mover and Shaker, and blogs at The Unquiet Librarian.
  • David Jakes is Coordinator of Instructional Technology and Information Services at Glenbrook South High School in Chicago. He speaks frequently at conferences and workshops nationwide and is passionate about evolving our understanding of literacy and learning environments.
  • Randall Kirsch is former chairman of the board of the Atlanta Children’s Shelter, a 2009 graduate of Leadership Atlanta, and partner at the award-winning public relations firm Jackson-Spalding.
  • Trung Le is the pioneer and lead designer of Cannon Design’s education group, writes regularly for Fast Company, and is co-founder of The Third Teacher.
  • Sarah Malin is Research and Outreach Coordinator for The Third Teacher at Cannon Design in Chicago.
  • Andrea Saveri is an independent consultant for future-think and strategy projects with a eye on education, resilient systems, and technologies of cooperation. She spent 20 years at Institute for the Future (collaborating with Howard Rheingold). In partnership with the Knowledgeworks Foundation she created 2020 Forecast: Creating the Future of Learning
  • David Staley, PhD is director of the Harvey Goldberg Center for Excellence in Teaching (Ohio State University) and he serves as National Dean for General Education at Harrison College. He is Principal at The DStaley Groupthis report on the future of academic libraries.
  • Joyce Valenza, PhD is the head librarian at Springfield Township High School in Pennsylvania and blogs for the School Library Journal at Never Ending Search.

The Lovett School Team

  • Robyn Martin is Director of Libraries at The Lovett School where she leads the library’s reimagining effort.
  • Billy Peebles is Headmaster at The Lovett School.
  • Bill Dunkel is Assistant Headmaster and Upper School Principal at The Lovett School and leads the school’s strategic plan for sustainability.
  • Lauren Formica is a junior at The Lovett School and a founding participant in Be Playful’s Prototype Design Camp. She is a natural leader with a voice and passion for sustainable living and loves the “learning by failing” process.
  • Peter Diaz is a junior at The Lovett School and a founding participant in Be Playful’s Prototype Design Camp. He was recently elected the 2011-12 Student Government Association President and is known for his exceptional capabilities as an extemporaneous speaker.

Leadership Team

  • Jeff Sharpe is the Creative Director for Reimagine : ED. As an architect and filmmaker, his work challenges how space and design are pedagogical creating a dynamic body of work that includes architectural projects, environmental and exhibition design, art installations, interactive design, print and film.  Jeff has led the design of innovative learning environments and transformative libraries around the world. His work in design and design-thinking has provided strategic leadership to industry, non-profits and educational organizations. He has received numerous national and international awards for architecture and design, including ID Magazine Design Distinction Award, BAQ Pan-American Biennale First Prize, Contract Magazine Educational Interior Award and several American Institute of Architects awards.
  • Laura Deisley is Director of 21st Century Learning at The Lovett School with an emphasis on developing a School for the Future via learning communities, strategic partnerships, and innovative practice.
  • Christian Long is an educator and designer. He is currently the VP Cannon Design and Third Teacher, RE:ED Adivsor. Also, he is the founder of Be Playful and Prototype.

The Be Playful Team

Skip to toolbar